Italian-style Stuffed BBQ Pork Loin

My plan the other day was to drop by the grocery store and see what looked good for dinner. Sometimes this gives me an unexpected inspiration. Sometimes it does not. After perusing the butcher case for a bit, I settled on pork loin: dependably delicious. I toted my pork home and surveyed the fridge for stuffing options. As usual, I had sun-dried tomatoes, artichokes, and goat cheese on hand. And so I threw together a little Italian-style Stuffed BBQ Pork Loin.

My first surprise upon opening my pre-packaged pork loin was that it was not one 2.5-lb pork loin but two 1-1.5 lb tenderloins.

Stuffed Pork Loin

It made my knife work easier, since I just needed to carefully cut them through the middle almost to the other side, open them up like a book, and flatten them out with a mallet. (Pounding with a mallet is pretty primeval and very satisfying at the end of the day.)

Stuffed Pork Loin

After a bit of salt & pepper, I sprinkled my toppings: 4 oz goat cheese, 1 cup chopped marinated artichoke hearts, 1/2 cup chopped sun-dried tomatoes, and 1/4 cup pine nuts.

Stuffed Pork Loin

Then I oh-so-carefully rolled them up and secured with butcher twine. Surprise number two was that I was almost out of butcher twine so these weren’t secured as much as usual. But it worked.

Stuffed Pork Loin

On they went to my Big Green Egg, which was set up for indirect heat (with drip pan underneath) and evened out at a toasty 375 degrees dome temperature. While the pork started cooking, I whipped up some easy Balsamic BBQ sauce. (Inspired by this one I used on some ah-mazing ribs not long ago.) I was feeling less ambitious so I just mixed a cup of bottled BBQ sauce with about 1/3 cup balsamic vinegar and threw in some onion powder for good measure.

Balsamic BBQ Sauce

After about 20 minutes, I (very carefully) flipped the pork loins over and started basting with the balsamic BBQ sauce.

Stuffed BBQ Pork Loin

Another twenty minutes, and they were flipped again and basted with sauce. At 50 total minutes of cooking, they were ready to take off and rest. I tented with foil and let them be while I dished up sides and fetched beverages. The first slice showed me perfectly cooked pork with a nice little smoke ring.

Italian Pork Loin

I plated up a few slices per person and they soon disappeared. Dependably delicious, indeed.

Italian-style Stuffed BBQ Pork Loin

Categories: Pork, Recipes | Tags: , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Italian-style Stuffed BBQ Pork Loin

  1. Gorgeous! Absolutely gorgeous!

  2. Thank you, sir!

  3. I’m definitely going to try this recipe myself!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

