Grilled Portobellos Caprese

I am a mushroom fan. I realize not everyone is but, if you are, you have undoubtedly had some version of grilled portobellos. At one point, they were the hot new restaurant item and gradually became pretty ubiquitous. Sometimes grilled portobellos are sublime and sometimes they are mushy and tasteless. It’s all in how you cook them, season them and, in most cases, what you stuff inside them. This is an easy recipe you can whip up and serve as an appetizer and then move onto more serious grilling. Or, if you are like me, it makes a nice, light weeknight meal.

Grilled Portobellos Caprese

from Grill This, Not That

Ingredients

  • 4 large portobello mushrooms, cleaned and stems removed
  • 1 tbsp olive oil (I used garlic olive oil)
  • 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 2 medium tomatoes, chopped
  • 8 oz ball fresh mozzarella, chopped
  • 2 tbsp prepared pesto

Caprese ingredients

Directions

Preheat grill over medium-low heat. (I wasn’t cooking anything else, so I just used my gas grill to keep things fast.) Use a spoon to scrape away some of the gills on the underside of the mushrooms. Place the mushrooms in a shallow baking dish and drizzle with oil and vinegar. Season with salt & pepper.

Combine tomatoes, mozzarella, and pesto in a mixing bowl.

Caprese ingredients

It was all I could do not to just eat the filling straight out of the bowl — resist, my friends. The end result it worth it.

Grill the portobellos, gill side down, for 2 minutes.

Grilled Portobellos Caprese

Flip each and fill the cap with the caprese mixture. (I did this off the grill in my original baking dish to make things easier and then moved them back to the grill.)

Grilled Portobellos Caprese

Close the grill and leave them be for 8-10 minutes, until the mushrooms are soft and lightly charred and the mozzarella has melted.

Grilled Portobellos Caprese

Those look gooey good, don’t they? While they are probably best with summer tomatoes, I could see mixing in some quality sun-dried tomatoes packed in oil and getting good results, also. I may go have a leftover portobello now…

Categories: Appetizer, Recipes, Sides, Vegetables, Vegetarian | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Grilled Portobellos Caprese

  1. Gas grill? For shame! Naw, just kidding. Sometimes I miss the ease of gas, but since I get home from work so early its not a big deal for me to light up the egg, pour a beverage and wait for the Mrs. to get home. Totally off topic…well not really…I’ve found it is so much quicker to light and get the mini egg up to temp. Perfect for small meals for just the two of us.

    And to bring it back to topic….your mushrooms look wonderful. I’d probably have to fight with my wife just to stop her from eating my share. We were just discussing stuffed mushrooms last night. Think that and this post are some kind of sign to go ahead and make some. thanks for sharing.

  2. Thanks, Jason! You know, the first time I saw the mini Egg I was like, “Why bother?” But I am starting to see the logic in it — quicker, easier, you don’t feel like you are wasting charcoal. I may try stuffed portobellos again soon and switch up the stuffing a bit. Can’t wait to see what spin you put on these. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

