Grilled Shrimp with Thai-style Honey Glaze

I have to admit that, when last Sunday rolled around gray and rainy, I decided to enjoy a veg-on-the-sofa day. My intentions of grilling up some goodies and watching football went by the wayside. Which worked out, since the Cowboys also decided football wasn’t a priority. But it did put me behind on my weekly BBQ-ing. So, thank you for your patience and let me assure you I’m cooking up a storm the back half of the week.

Looking to get my mojo going, I dropped by Sprouts to scout out the seafood case. The hubby was going to be home late and, since he is not a seafood or fish fan, this was my opportunity to cook something just for me. I settled on some wild, U.S. shrimp that were a nice size and also on sale. I like to give any seafood I buy the sniff test before I buy, especially if it is on sale. Sure, it kind of makes me feel like a jerk asking but seafood is expensive, y’all. I imagine I am an old Italian grandmother at the market, versus a picky soccer mom. Not sure why that makes me feel better but it does.

The shrimp passed the sniff test and 1 lb came home for dinner. The 20 minutes I spent shelling and deveining reminded me why I usually eat them in restaurants. The end produce was delish, though, so let me share…

Grilled Shrimp with Thai-style Honey Glaze

Ingredients

  • 1 lb raw shrimp (good size to kabob)

Marinade

  • 1 cup lite coconut milk
  • 1/4 cup oil

Glaze

  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup oil
  • 1 tsp each onion powder, granulated garlic, ground dried ginger, and ground dried mustard
  • Pinch of dried lemon grass
  • 1 tbsp sambal oelek (chili paste with garlic)

Directions

First, set up your grill for direct heat and level it off at 450 degrees (dome temp.)  Next, marinate your peeled shrimpies in the coconut milk and 1/4 cup of oil. (I used lime-flavored grapeseed oil but you could also use olive oil and add a squeeze or two of lime.)

Grilled Shrimp with Thai-style Honey Glaze

You’ll let these marinate for about 30 minutes in the fridge while you make your glaze. The key ingredients for the glaze are the honey, oil, and ginger. I threw in some other ingredients I had sitting in my pantry and fridge but don’t stress if you don’t have them all. The chili garlic sauce adds some nice heat and, being a spice addict, I went with a whole tablespoon. Feel free to dial it down to suit your taste. When you mix it all together, it will smell like heaven and look like this:

Grilled Shrimp with Thai-style Honey Glaze

The easiest way to grill shrimp is on flat skewers. Note that I did not say round skewers — which will make you crazy when you go to flip and your shrimp just spin around. If all you have is round, try to run two skewers through each set of shrimp to make them easy to flip. I had pre-soaked some flat bamboo skewers, so I got to work loading about five shrimp per skewer. A little salt and pepper and the shrimp were ready to go on the grill.

Grilled Shrimp with Thai-style Honey Glaze

After reserving a little bit of my glaze in a separate bowl, I placed the shrimp on the grate and then used a silicone basting brush to put the glaze on the side facing up. By the time I was done glazing everything, I only needed to wait another minute and then start flipping the skewers with some tongs. Then I basted the shrimp again with glaze.

Grilled Shrimp with Thai-style Honey Glaze

I watched them cook for about 2 more minutes and then they were ready to pull off. (Don’t walk away — these cook super quick.) Don’t they look good?

Grilled Shrimp with Thai-style Honey Glaze

I hadn’t really thought about what I might serve with my shrimp but settled on serving them over a bit of salad.

Grilled Shrimp with Thai-style Honey Glaze

I had to save some room for the dessert that was cooking on the Egg — more details tomorrow.

Categories: Recipes, Seafood | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Grilled Shrimp with Thai-style Honey Glaze

  1. Looks great and a creative way to spice them up. Like the way you made to sure to run the skewer through each shrimp twice. That also helps to stop them from wiggling around when you are trying to flip them.

    Totally agree with your comments about the Cowboys. I couldn’t even finish watching them. I know this is blasphemy….but I kinda wanted to see the Redskins play….just to see RG3 (since he a Baylor alum and all). Don’t tell anybody, though. 😉

  2. Cheryl

    We appreciate you sharing your yummy recipes with Oil & Vinegar at Watters Creek. Please give us more!!!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

