Cubano Citrus Marinade

At the outset of my cookbook browsing a few weekends ago, I started with the bargain racks. Because there are so many cookbooks, you can usually find decent deals on those racks. My steal this time was Better Homes & Gardens Grill It! at the very affordable price of $7.98. This week I flipped through looking for dinner inspiration and settled on a recipe called “Flat Iron Steaks Cubano.” I’m going to walk you through how I made the steaks but the important part of this post is the marinade. Because it rocks. Citrus + garlic + oregano + cumin = heaven. It could easily be used on pork or chicken and you could probably mix your meat with greens and leftover marinade for a killer main dish salad. Here’s what you’ll need

Cubano Citrus Marinade

  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 2-3 tbsp shredded orange peel (use a microplane and it’s oh-so-easy)
  • 1/2-cup orange juice (about 2 oranges)
  • 1/3 cup finely chopped red onion
  • 1 tbsp shredded lime peel
  • 1/4 cup lime juice (about 2 limes)
  • 2 tsp shredded lemon peel
  • 3 tbsp lemon juice (about 1 lemon)
  • 6 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tsps dried oregano
  • 2 tsps cumin
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper

Start by juicing all of your lovely citrus. You can go with a hand juicer or just halve and really squeeze everything over a fine sieve. Since we were juicing quite a few things, I pulled out my easy electric juicer (that usually only sees action when it is margarita making time) and I enlisted the boy to help me out.

Cubano Citrus Marinade

And then I just added all of the other ingredients to the juicing bowl.

Cubano Citrus Marinade

We set aside about 1/2 cup of the marinade for later use.

Cubano Citrus Marinade

And poured the rest over my 1.5 lbs of steaks, sealing everything up in a Ziploc bag.

Cubano Citrus Marinade

Into the fridge they went for about 30 minutes of marinating; after that, I moved them to the counter top for a final 30 minutes of marinating so they could come to room temperature. I heated up my grill to 400 degrees and put them on.

Cubano Citrus Marinade

After 10 minutes per side (for medium rare — longer if you like them more cooked) I pulled them off to rest.

Cubano Citrus Marinade

Ten minutes of resting and they were ready to plate up with my fresh fig salad. I drizzled a good bit of the reserved marinade over each steak.

Cubano Citrus Marinade

The most work is in juicing everything for the marinade but trust me when I tell you it is totally worth it. Delicioso, y’all!

Categories: Beef, Marinades/Sauces, Recipes | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

