Bacon-wrapped Pork Loin with Hatch Green Chile Stuffing

It seems that lately I have two main criteria when deciding what to cook: 1. Can I wrap it in bacon? and 2. Can I stuff a bunch of other tasty ingredients inside? My friend and colleague Shelley maintains that you can never have enough bacon and I tend to agree. So you will have to excuse the preponderance of bacon-wrapping because I’ve got another one for ya. One day when I was looking for feedback on Facebook re: what I should cook up, Jason over at Griffin’s Grub suggested “Butterfly pork loin, stuff with whatever and then roll up and wrap in bacon weave.” Sounded like a fine idea to me.

While at Whole Foods, I committed to a 3 lb pork loin and some apple cinnamon bacon. I already had some Hatch green chiles in the fridge (this is the season for Hatch green chiles here in Texas) and I decided to use those for the stuffing. A quick online search of “apple cinnamon Hatch chiles” yielded several pie recipes that sounded very intriguing. One had cheddar in the crust. Why not? I would add cheddar to the stuffing. Are you getting the feeling that I was improvising? Luckily, it all turned out well. Or, as my father-in-law said, “You should blog the heck out of that.” If you want to try it, then here’s the rundown…

Step one is to filet your pork loin — don’t worry, it’s really not hard. Think of it as cutting a big swirl through the meat. Here is a great demo so you can see it in action…

This is me fileting…

Bacon-wrapped Stuffed Pork Loin

And the end result of my knife skills (plus a bit of tenderizing)…

Bacon-wrapped Stuffed Pork Loin

Once you have it all nice and laid out, salt and pepper it and then prep your stuffing. Roasted green chiles are awesome and easy to use with just a few steps. Rinse them under water to remove most of the burnt skin.

Bacon-wrapped Stuffed Pork Loin

Then cut off the stem ends, slice vertically, open up the pepper, and scrape out the seeds.

Hatch Chiles

Once you have chopped up about two cups, throw them in a bowl. (Alternatively, you can use canned chopped green chiles and maybe mix with some sauteed onions.)

Hatch Chiles

Then spread them over your pork loin, leaving a one-inch border. Sprinkle with some cheddar for good measure.

Bacon-wrapped Pork Loin with Hatch Green Chile Stuffing

Roll that sucker up.

Bacon-wrapped Pork Loin with Hatch Green Chile Stuffing

Ah, now comes the bacon. I really wanted to weave it up like Christine does over at Texana’s Kitchen but my bacon was too thick. So I decided to braid it. First, I laid down a bit of butcher twine vertically and then I put down the bacon…

Bacon-wrapped Pork Loin with Hatch Green Chile Stuffing

I put the pork loin on top and started wrapping the bacon…

Bacon-wrapped Pork Loin with Hatch Green Chile Stuffing

When I was finished, I tied up everything so it would hold together nicely.

Bacon-wrapped Pork Loin with Hatch Green Chile Stuffing

I had some fire going in the Green Egg and managed to stick the temp at 350 degrees. Everything was set up for indirect heat with a drip pan underneath to catch the bacon drippings. On the grill went my lovely piece of pig.

Bacon-Wrapped Pork Loin with Hatch Chile Stuffing

After 45 minutes, I carefully flipped it over. Another hour and it was ready to remove from the grill.

Bacon-wrapped Pork Loin with Hatch Green Chile Stuffing

After it had rested five minutes, we sliced it up…

Bacon-wrapped Pork Loin with Hatch Green Chile Stuffing

And served it with some yummy sides (including grilled Brussels sprouts.)

Bacon-wrapped Pork Loin with Hatch Green Chile Stuffing

It was a big hit at my house and I’m wagering it would be a big hit in yours, too.

Categories: Pork, Recipes | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Bacon-wrapped Pork Loin with Hatch Green Chile Stuffing

  1. That looks delish. And I’m sure nobody notices whether its braided or woven. Yum.

  2. Pingback: Pork x 4 Stuffed Pork Loin « Zen of BBQ

  3. Pingback: Bacon-wrapped Pork Loin with Hatch Green Chile Stuffing | My Atkins Journey

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

