Easy Summer Veggies

When I was making my stuffed flank steak the other night, I wanted some simple veggies to go on the side. I have previously posted about my love of foil packets on the grill… they are the easiest way to cook something quick and delish. I looked around at the store and settled on some summer squash, zucchini, purple onion, and an organic red pepper. (I’m not a huge organic girl but tend to try to use organic in the places I’ve read it makes the most difference. For me, that’s milk, peppers, salad greens, and berries.) I chopped it all up and put it in a bowl, drizzled it with olive oil, and sprinkled on salt, pepper, granulated garlic, and finely ground thyme like so…

Summer Veggies

Next, I rolled it up and threw it on my gas grill, which was heated to about 400 degrees.

Summer Veggies

I carefully flipped my packet with a spatula after about 8 minutes and then let it cook for another 8-10 minutes. (If you like your veggies caramelized then leave on for a bit longer.) When they were done, I poured these lovelies into a bowl…

Summer Veggies

And finished them up with my secret weapon: a bit of black truffle salt on top.

Truffle Salt

A little truffle salt does the trick — I got mine at Oil & Vinegar. Minimal effort and I had a fab side for my flank steak.

Summer Veggies

Give ’em a try, y’all — and let me know what you think!

Categories: Recipes, Sides, Vegetables | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

