Leftover Pasta Frittata

I know, I know. This is not BBQ at all, is it? [Sigh] Well, I could give you excuses about how hot it is here in Texas, or about how I just had the craziest work week ever since I became my own boss… but you probably don’t want to hear my belly-aching, do ya? Instead, I will share with you one of the few things I managed to cook this week. It was the yummy stand-out in a string of restaurant and fast food meals.

Elie Krieger has a great Spaghetti Frittata recipe that is on the healthful side but also tastes great. She calls for making the spaghetti just for the frittata and, let’s be honest, if I am making spaghetti then I am probably just going to eat the spaghetti. But leftover spaghetti is a whole other matter. I’m not big on leftovers — if I can whip them into a new dish, that’s perfect.

I found that opportunity when I went for girls night out at a local family Italian restaurant. It is one of our favorites both because the food is a delicious carb-fest and because it is BYOW. Any time I can save the crazy restaurant mark up on wine, I am happy to do so. I ordered some linguine with shrimp and arrabbiata sauce. (They also have diablo but their arrabbiata is plenty spicy for me.) After I ate all of the shrimp and half of the pasta, I had a perfect to go portion to take home and make into Pasta Frittata for two.

First, I sauteed some onion and then added the pasta to reheat.

Spaghetti Frittata

While that heated through, I whisked two eggs and two egg whites with salt, pepper, granulated garlic, and dried basil. (I usually prefer to add fresh basil but didn’t have any on hand.)

Spaghetti Frittata

I poured the egg mixture over the pasta and let it cook for a bit. Then I added some chopped sundried tomatoes on top.

Pasta Frittata

I had preheated my toaster oven on Broil so, once my eggs were set on the bottom and around the edges, I sprinkled some feta on top…

Pasta Frittata

And popped it in the toaster oven for about three minutes.

Pasta Frittata

A quick peek told me the top had set and everything looked nice and melted, so I took it out of the oven…

Pasta Frittata

Then sliced it up and dug in.

Pasta Frittata

With a salad on the side, it makes for a perfect lunch. Here’s the recipe, y’all:

Leftover Pasta Frittata (serves 2)

Ingredients

2 eggs + 2 egg whites
1/2 tbsp olive oil
1/3 cup diced onion
1/3 cup sun-dried tomatoes (oil-packed, drained)
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp dried basil
Dash of salt and freshly ground black pepper
1 cup leftover pasta with sauce (spicy is better)
1/4 cup  feta (or grated Parmesan)

Directions

Heat the oil in a small (I used an 8-inch) oven-proof, nonstick skillet over a medium-high heat. (If you are not sure whether your pan is oven-safe, just wrap the handle in foil like I did.) Add the onion and cook, stirring occasionally, until the onion is softened, 3 to 5 minutes.

Add the pasta to the pan and stir to combine. While it heats through, whisk the eggs with the salt, pepper, garlic, and basil.

Pour the eggs evenly over the pasta. Lower the heat to medium-low and cook for 6 to 8 minutes, until eggs are set on the edges but not in the middle. Halfway through, sprinkle the sundried tomatoes on top.

Preheat the broiler. Sprinkle the top of the frittata with cheese and place under the broiler. Cook until the top is set and golden brown, 2 to 3 minutes.Cut into wedges and serve.

Categories: Breakfast, Brunch, Recipes | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

