Quick Tri-Tip

Awhile back, Jason @ Griffin’s Grub cooked up a mighty fine looking tri-tip. I had never tried my hand at this particular cut of beef before so I filed it away in the foodie lobe of my brain for future consideration. Fast forward a few weeks and I am standing in the midst of Costco’s meat department, completely overwhelmed. Seeing as how I didn’t need 20 lbs of brisket at that very moment, I wasn’t sure what to do. And then my eyes landed on this:

Tri-tip

The elusive tri-tip, right before my eyes! I snatched it up and, since I was only looking to feed me and the hubby, I promptly wrapped up one of the tri-tips for freezing and future eats.

Freezer Ready

For the other tri-tip, I threw together a quick rub made from:

2 teaspoons each freshly ground black pepper
1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 teaspoon onion powder
1 tablespoon granulated garlic
1 tablespoon salt

Spices

I rubbed down the tri-tip…

Tri-tip

And, since I had decided to sear first and then lower my temperature to finish, I heated my Green Egg all the way up.

Big Green Egg

I neglected to get a picture of the searing process but you can tell it was highly ineffective based on this picture, after I moved to indirect heat to finish.

Tri-tip

(You might also note that I forgot my drip pan, as well. Obviously lost my focus. Perhaps I was fielding some child-related request.)

While I waited for my tri-tip to come to an internal temperature of 110 degrees, I basted it with 1/4 cup cider vinegar, 1/4 cup vegetable oil, and 1 tsp garlic olive oil.

Basting sauce

When it hit the magic number

Temp

I pulled it off and let it rest for about 10 minutes. Then we sliced it up…

Tri-tip

And served it with (of course) a oh-so-good salad.

Tri-tip

The flavor was spot on but it definitely could have used a better crust. Learn from my mistakes — sear that sucker! Looking forward to another shot with my bonus tri-tip in the freezer.

Categories: Beef, Recipes | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Quick Tri-Tip

  1. Thanks for the recipe! Can’t wit to make some tri-tip!

  2. missgrill

    looks good. have never had that cut…. funny, my thermometer doesn’t have Celsius and I live in Canada!

    • That is odd — I don’t even remember where we got our thermometer, we have had it so long. Love your blog, missgrill — glad to find another BBQ babe in the blogosphere. 😉

  3. missgrill

    Thanks! and likewise. smiled when I saw BBQQueen instead of king 🙂

  4. Could have sworn I commented on this. I know I read it. Hmmm….wonder what happened? Glad you found some to try out. Like you did it justice. Good job.

  5. I may defrost the other tri-tip this weekend and give it another shot. Gonna try to get a pretty char like you did on yours.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

