Joining the Cult

Big Green Egg

She’s a beaut!

I have used a gas grill forever but I knew that to really BBQ one needed to get comfortable with hardwood charcoal. So, I set about determining the best smoker for me. In the two years I have been looking to undertake this little project, the Big Green Egg has surged in popularity. If I had bought one back then, it would have been maybe a bit unique. (My husband likes to say that I am always on the leading edge of mainstream. Nothing wrong with that!) Now I have many friends who own a Big Green Egg and not one of them has a bad thing to say about it. In fact, they tend to rhapsodize about it upon occasion. A quick online search links you to all kinds of die-hard enthusiasts. But I didn’t just want to buy the hype — I wanted to know it was the smoker for me.* And worth the not-so-insignificant investment.

So, I went to a place I had visited before and asked an expert. It took Al at Barbeques Galore about sixty seconds to explain to me why the best choice was… the Big Green Egg. He was very articulate in his explanation and he detailed his personal experience. He could talk some BBQ, that guy. He sold me a @#!%-load of stuff. And I have put almost all of it to good use so far. Thank you, Al!

When I told one of my co-workers about my purchase, she said, “Ah, you’ve joined the cult.” And I guess I have. They seem like nice people so far. In my first semi-disastrous attempt at grilling pizza, I discovered Fred, who owns Tasty Licks BBQ Supply and has some pretty awesome Big Green Egg videos. Fred is the kind of guy I would like to have a beer with someday. And maybe he can show me how to keep my pizza dough from sticking to my peel. (Gonna try that one again this weekend so stay tuned.) Based on some of the folks who have commented or followed me already (like Griffin’s Grub and Clint T,) I can tell I will have a lot of Big Green Egg mentors. Thanks, guys!

Okay, I think it’s about time to get into the eatin’. Up tomorrow: pork shoulder.

* I briefly toyed with buying this lovely Kamado smoker but decided to go with tried and true. If only the Big Green Egg came in pink… What can I say? I’m a girl.

Categories: General | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Joining the Cult

  1. Yup, she’s a beaut. Welcome to the cult. Where abouts are you located? Maybe one day we’ll meet up at an Eggfest.

    As for pizza dough sticking to the peel….I never could master that. Now, I just build my pizzas on parchment paper (cut to a bit bigger than the pizza) and slide the whole thing on the Egg. After a few minutes, you should be able to grab the parchment paper with some tongs and it will slide right out from underneath. Works for me.

    Can’t wait to see what you start cooking up.

    • Thanks for the tip! Do you put the parchment directly on a pizza stone? I think we are both in the Dallas area so will keep an eye out for the next Eggfest. 🙂

      • Yes. I do placesetter with the legs facing down, then the 3 little green feet with the pizza stone on top of that. Make sure to give the pizza stone plenty of time to heat up. 30 minutes of so. And then then parchment paper with pizza directly onto the stone. After 2 or 3 minutes it should slide right out.

        We are in Dallas, Richardson to be specific. You should check out the Plano Eggfest in November. We’ll probably be cooking at that one again. Good times.

        If you have any questions, feel free to ask or check out GreenEggers or Egghead Forum. Plenty of nice people there who are more than willing to help out.

  2. I love that you have a store called “Barbeques Galore”!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

